AIT rector attends international symposium in the Swiss Confederation

20 October, 2022

Agil Shirinov, Associate Professor and Rector of Azerbaijan Institute of theology (AIT), attended the international symposium on Building New Bridges Together: Spirituality and Values at the Foundation of Quality Education in Geneva, Switzerland.

AIT rector Agil Shirinov spoke at the plenary session of the conference jointly organized by the network of global educational institutions "," the Geneva Moral Service Association, and the Center for Geostrategic Observation of Geneva, as did Christoph Stückelberger, Founder and President of the network of global educational institutions; Obiora Ike, Executive Director; Archbishop Fortunatus Nwachukwu, representative of the Holy See and ambassador of the Vatican to the UN institutions in Geneva; Chidiebere Onyia, Managing Director of United Kingdom Nigeria Infrastructure Facility (UKNIAF); Ebba Ossiannilsson, President of the Swedish Association for Distance Education; Isabel Apawo Phiri, Deputy Secretary General of the World Council of Churches (WCC); Elena Ippoliti, Coordinator of the UN Human Rights Education and Training Unit; Anne Burghardt, Secretary General of the Lutheran World Federation (LWF).

In his speech at the plenary meeting, AIT rector Agil Shirinov stated that there is a greater need to build new bridges in the world in terms of global values. Noting that ignorance is the leading cause of radicalism, the rector emphasized that knowledge, learning, is its most powerful threat: “The education system is critical in eradicating ignorance and building bridges between people of different nationalities and religions. Students in schools and universities should be taught more about their cultures, and shared values that shape humanism should be instilled.”

The international conference was attended by Germany, Switzerland, Bulgaria, France, the United Kingdom, Portugal, Sweden, Cuba, Colombia, Argentina, the United States, India, Vietnam, Indonesia, Lebanon, the Philippines, Nigeria, Kenya, Ethiopia, Morocco, Algeria, and Mauritius, Malawi, South Africa, Togo, Ghana, and Rwanda.

sub menu